Board of Directors


Howard Morse, President
Albert H. Small, Jr., Vice President
Pat Silverman, Treasurer
Adam Rubinson, Secretary
Alexandra Horowitz, At Large
Stuart Zuckerman, At Large

Board Members

Andrew Ammerman
Gerald Bass
Sharon Burka
Dorothy Canter
Esther Foer
Tracey Gallagher
Wilma Probst Levy
Ernie Marcus

Gene Sofer
Alex Stein
John Tolleris
Diane Abelman Wattenberg
Joel Wind
Laurence Wiseman
Paul Wright
Marlene Zakai

Past Presidents

Robert Shosteck*
Hyman J. Cohen*
Bernard I. Nordlinger*
Hon. Milton S. Kronheim, Jr.*
Henry Brylawski*
William B. Wolf, Jr.*
C. Haskell Small*
Nathan I. Silberberg*
Bernard S. Glassman
Donald Wolpe*
Dr. Jonathan Grossman*
Dr. Jonathan P. Siegel*
Robert I. Silverman*

Leonard Abel
Dr. Michael L. Goldstein
James Goldberg
David Burka
Samuel Flax
Paula Goldman
Richard S. Alper
Frank Gilbert
Dr. Peggy Pearlstein
Stuart Zuckerman
Sidney J. Silver
Samuel Brylawski
Russell Smith

Chair of the Honorary Directors

Albert H. Small

Honorary Directors

Carolyn Alper
Stuart Bindeman
Ryna Cohen
S. Robert Cohen
Nancy Colodny
Maryann Friedman

Brenda Pascal
Barbara Rein
Hubert Schlosberg
Rabbi Matthew Simon
Hadassah Thursz
Stephen Joel Trachtenberg

Society of Fellows

Lillian Small*

Honorary President

Aaron Goldman*

*Of blessed memory


Kara Blond, Executive Director

A Washington native, executive director Kara Blond holds a master of arts degree in education in learning, design and technology from Stanford University and a bachelor of arts degree in English from the University of Pennsylvania. She brings over 15 years of experience, including her most recent position as director of exhibitions at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of Natural History.

Samantha Abramson, Museum Educator

Sam began at the Society in 2011 as an intern and volunteer. She holds a Masters in Museum Studies with concentrations in administration and exhibition development from The George Washington University and a Bachelors degree in History with minors in English, Jewish Studies, and Spanish from the University of Minnesota.

Jaclyn Kimball, Program Associate

Jaclyn first worked with the Society in 2015 as an intern while completing her Master’s Degree in Museum Studies at The George Washington University.  Originally from New Hampshire, Jaclyn has lived in D.C. since 2005 when she moved here to attend American University, and has recently bought her first house in Southeast D.C.

Michelle Malet, Director of Development

Michelle has returned to the Washington area after serving as the Jewish Holocaust Centre’s Foundation director and director of Advancement in Melbourne, Australia. She holds a Master of Social Work from the University of Pennsylvania and a Master of Arts in Jewish Communal Service from Gratz College. She brings extensive experience working with Jewish organizations and has a deep seated passion for Jewish communal building.

Rebekah Sobel, Director of Interpretation

Originally a California native, Rebekah joined us in the fall of 2018 from 10 years at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. She has a PhD in Anthropology and Visual Communication from Temple University. Rebekah brings 20 years of teaching, research, museum planning and exhibit project management experience to her new role.

Wendy Turman, Deputy Director

Wendy has worked for the Society since 2000. She has a Masters in Museum Studies from George Washington University and a Bachelors degree in History from the University of California, Santa Cruz. She previously worked at the National Museum of Health and Medicine and the Smithsonian Institution.